From here on…

When Kyle decided to join the army I knew that I couldn’t just stay idle.  I needed to do something for myself.  I needed to follow my own dreams.  I never quite understood why he was taking such a risk especially during a time of war until he asked me one night: “Isn’t there something out there that you have ALWAYS wanted to do?”  There was no doubt in my mind that the answer to that question was a resounding yes and I finally understood the yearning in his heart to go and do something he has been dreaming about since he was a little boy. 

I have always wanted to live in another country.  I love America and all, but I want to see the world.  I want to learn about other cultures and I want experience what other people experience.  I never got a chance to take a semester abroad because I was busy fulfilling another dream (playing college softball for the University of Michigan).  I’ve only been to Europe once and I was 13, in eighth grade, and definitely didn’t fully appreciate the historical value of a place that has park benches older than our country. 

My whole life I have depended on others.  No matter what stage of my life I went through I always had someone in my life to lean on.  I wouldn’t have survived college if I didn’t have the best friends in the world.  I wouldn’t be where I am if I didn’t have such a supportive family.  And I definitely wouldn’t be who I am today if I didn’t have Kyle there for me these past two years.  I’ve been blessed with a wonderful life surrounded by the most amazing people.  According to Kyle, I’ve lived in this sheltered bubble my whole life, which I’m of course not complaining about.  I like to think that people are inherrently good and  that life is made out of rainbows and sunshine.  But I want to see what else is out there.  I want to witness some adversity.  I want to be on my own and discover that I can depend on myself and not just on others. 

Which is where Thailand comes into the picture.  I quit my job and I’m moving to Thailand for at least six months, maybe longer.  I don’t know anyone and I barely even know where I’m going, but I’m going to make it and its going to be my own. 

And now this is my new life…my new self….from here on…

2 thoughts on “From here on…

  1. Hey

    I think we’ve met once with Reagan and Jackie Dubbins. We were suppose to do a few other things with the girls but i bailed last minute.

    But what you’re doing, going to Thailand, is amazing. I only wish i had the guts to go.

    Live your life girlie, do it right, enjoy!!! Be safe, but come back soon and share the great stories and your memories!

    Wishing you a great trip from my own little bubble in Palos Verdes!!!

Leave a Reply

