My first taste of teaching

The only teaching experience I have is teaching little girls how to hit a softball.  At least they spoke my language!!  I’ve had the opportunity to help out on a few English camps through the company I work for.  I was a little nervous at first because this would be the first time I was meeting Thai kids and I was worried that a) I wasn’t going to like teaching or b) they weren’t going to like me.  The camps are pretty much summer camp which consists of fun games where we try to integrate English.  Of course, the kids always are speaking Thai except when they’re required to speak English.  I wish that I had listened when I was in middle school and high school and the teacher told me only speak Spanish in the classroom.  I’m pretty sure I would have learned it a lot better!  I had the chance to teach my own class a few times and of course it was a little challenging at first but I realized that I could definitely get the hang of it.  Oh and I realized another thing…. I loved it!! I had so much fun teaching the kids that I can’t wait to have my own class!!  I can’t wait to have a classroom and make my own lesson plans and do everything that is involved with teaching.  This was an amazing discovery!  The only thing that sucks slash is a little bit funny is when the kids try to talk thai to me and I have no idea what they’re saying.  Its like in Finding Nemo when the baby turtle (Squirt) is talking and Marlin says: “It’s like he’s trying to speak to me, I know it.  Look, you’re really cute, but I can’t understand what you’re saying.”  I think about that everytime and I laugh a little (inside of course).  The blank stares are tough too, but I know its going to be so rewarding when they say words that I taught them! 

There is so much I need to learn, especially the around the clock peppiness that is required with teaching Thai Kids!  I talked to a few teachers and they said that no matter what kind of day you’re having it doesn’t matter, you need to be all smiles when you enter that classroom.  This will definitely be a difficult task for me because I wear my emotions on my sleeve, but hopefully I won’t be having many bad days in Thailand!!  Another tidbit of advice was to teach every class like a fun English Camp.  I love that idea.  I want to sing and dance with the kids and make them excited to come to my class!!  I can’t wait to get down to Chumphon and start teaching November 2nd!

IMG_1778

4 thoughts on “My first taste of teaching

Leave a Reply

