Koh Phangan – The Home of the Full Moon Party

For my first island experience this was sure a doozy.  I went looking for beautiful beaches, lots of relaxing, and breathtaking vistas.  I was looking to explore and see everything the island had to offer.  I got the beautiful beach, but not quite anything else.   Koh Phangan is the home of the Full Moon Party, which is supposedly the largest beach party in the world.  Even though I wasn’t there for the actual Full Moon Party, which was Monday night November 2nd, the nights leading up to the party are apparently less crowded but just as crazy.  I was not prepared for this by any means.  To go from Lang Suan, where no one speaks English and the only people I see are Thais, to being surrounded by groups of backpacking foreigners, or farangs as they are called here,  who are only looking to drink all day and party all night.  Definitely not my scene.  The girls I was with, Katie and Jodi, were all about it and of course I joined (of course way more low-keyed than everyone else in Haad Rin, the location of the constant party), but it was definitely a once in a lifetime experience.   And I’m going to put emphasis on that it was a ONCE in a lifetime experience.  I don’t think I will be going back for the actual Full Moon Party because I don’t think I could take that many people.  There are supposed to be thousands more people on the actual night of the party.  I definitely feel like I had enough.  I always had to venture back to the room on my own because I could not hang with the others who could stay out till 6 or 7 in the morning.  Coming home at 3 o’clock in the morning, which is a completely out of the ordinary and extremely late night for me, was considered lame.  I did get my fair share of dancing and laughing with the girls and even partook in a Foam Party.  The last Foam Party I went to was Freshman Year in High School, where Poly was on the news a few days later because the entire school of 350 students had become sick.  Needless to say, I did not get sick and I had a blast, but of course once again had to cut out early. 

I did get a break during the day though.  I went on multiple solitary walks on a beautiful beach and got to spend a lot of time just taking in the warm water and soft sand.   Lying in half sand half water, I had plenty of time to focus on myself and what’s going on in my life at the moment.    I had a short yoga session in the sand, which was amazing, and took lots of photos, of course. 

I will be going back to Koh Phangan one of these days, but I will research a more secluded beach, plan hikes, maybe snorkeling trips, and definitely spend all my time taking in the scenery.

Leave a Reply

