Loy Krathong

Loy Krathong is a festival in Thailand held on the Full Moon in November.  “Loi” means “to float” and a “krathong” is a lotus-shaped raft which can float on water.  It is usually made out of a piece of banana tree trunk decorated with folded banana leaves, flowers, candles and incense sticks.  During this night, many people put a small raft like this on a river, make a wish and watch their krathong float away. They think that this will give them good luck.  When people put their krathong on the river to float away, they hope that anger, unhappiness, trouble and bad luck will also float away so that they can make a fresh, clean start.

What a perfect festival to be a part of.  I couldn’t have asked for a better night for this.  There have been so many things going on in my life and all I needed to do was let all the bad float away and just keep the good.  I made my wish and as I watched it float away I focused on how I want my life to be and the happiness I want in it.  I focused on the people I love and those that are extremely far away from me at the moment.  Although there was a lot of hustle and bustle. I really tried to make it a serene moment where I truly felt like my troubles were floating away.  Of course in reality they didn’t, but I absolutely love the symbolic nature of this festival.  I was so excited to be a part of it.  It really made me feel closer to the Thai culture.

Leave a Reply

