First impressions: Kuala Lumpur

I arrived in Kuala Lumpur by a bus from Penang and was once again overwhelmed by a huge city. I knew what I was getting myself into, another big city like Bangkok, but I guess I just forgot about how I felt when I first landed in Asia. I was meeting up with my couchsurfing host at some train stop and I had to switch trains on the way. The train system is unlike Bangkok’s simple skytrain with only two distinct lines. KL has four different lines and they go in all different directions. A little overwhelming of course. I made it onto what I thought was the right train, the Star LRT, but came to realize it was going the wrong way!! I got off at the next stop, had to cross the street, and explain to the ticket attendent that I had boarded the wrong train!! They let me in with a smile and I was once again on my way.

My first thoughts of KL were that it just looked like any other city. High skyrises, crazy traffic, and hoards of people. Coming from the quaint little town of Penang I was a little disappointed. I had loved Penang so much and I wasn’t ready for another big city. I also instantly missed my home in Lang Suan. I’ve loved the smaller towns.  But I knew that I still wanted to explore it and see what the hype was all about!

One thought on “First impressions: Kuala Lumpur

Leave a Reply

