First Impressions: Cambodia

Well after my annoying trip through the border, I landed in Krong Koh Kong and was back to that oh so familiar feeling of being overwhelmed. I didn’t know a word Khemer. I really had no idea where I was. I really had no idea where I was going. I honestly really had no idea what to do. I wondered around aimlessly for awhile, first looking for a Sim card (apparently they won’t sell to a non-Cambodian, I’ll try again in Sihanoukville) then trying to find something to eat. I must’ve walked to wrong way because I could not find a place to eat! I sat down at one place where people were lounging in lawn chairs and drinking and as soon as I tried to ask the girl if they had food, all the while motioning that I wanted to eat, her blank stare and the laughs of the surrounding men drove me right out of that place.

The anxiety of the old me started building up, but I fought to stifle it. I sauntered into a place that looked like a restaurant were three teenage girls were eating so I assumed there was food, but they could not understand the fact that I wanted to eat. I must be terrible at Charades. Finally, a guy next door who spoke English acted as an interpreter and I was served some fried rice. Always a safe bet.
I sat in the restaurant observing everything around me. It didn’t look too different than a smaller town in Thailand, just a tad bit dirtier. I also know that this town isn’t a huge tourist destination so I’m eager to see what Sihanoukville, Siem Reap, and Phnom Penh are like. I felt lost, but I knew it wouldn’t last too long. I’ve grown up a lot since those first nights on Khao San road and I had faith in myself that I would adapt.
On my way back to the guesthouse I ran into a tuk tuk/moto driver who convinced me to go out to the waterfalls with him for $10. I had read about the waterfalls and I decided that I shouldn’t just sit on my butt and I that I needed to embrace that I was in Cambodia and explore.

A view from the road on my motorcycle ride

The moto ride was phenomenal. It was about 20 km to the waterfalls and it was up and down the Cambodian hills with beautiful views, checkered with forests and lakes, around every corner. I just breathed in the air and kept repeating to myself, in my head of course, “I can’t believe I’m in freakin Cambodia!” I was so excited.

One of the many waterfalls at the Tatai Waterfalls

The Tatai waterfalls were so incredibly peaceful and I could have stayed there for hours. I’m only going to be in Krong Koh Kong one day and I’m extremely glad I didn’t spend it sleeping and resting from my long day’s journey like I had wanted to. I also grabbed a couple Angkor beers and watched the sunset.
What a perfect first day in Cambodia

Oh, and I still can’t believe I’m in freakin Cambodia!

2 thoughts on “First Impressions: Cambodia

  1. Pingback: First Impressions: Cambodia « …the traveling dreamer… | Cambodia today

Leave a Reply

